Tetra Pak, Kirloskar Oil, TVS, Welspun and Infosys among Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Award winners

India Carbon Outlook recently organised the Parivartan Sustainability Summit and Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards to showcase the leading sustainabilty intiatives of Indian Corporates.

Food Packaging major Tetra Pak, Auto sector giants TVS Motor Company and Kirloskar Oil Engines; Textile leaders Welspun and Ginni Filaments; and IT majors Infosys and Cognizant were amongst 16 large and small Indian corporates that bagged the Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards for 2011. 

The awards were presented at the Parivartan Sustainability Summit, India’s first market development forum on Sustainability and Innovation held on March 24.

The Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards, organized by India Carbon Outlook, seek to recognize Indian companies who have embraced sustainability in their business operations and supply chain and have shown leadership by taking initiatives for making their products, processes and facilities sustainable.

The winners were arrived at after evaluating the second stage shortlist of 200 + companies from an initial outreach of around 4500 companies actively engaged in the respective sector value chains. The nominations from these leading companies were judged by industry veterans and experts from the respective sectors such as Lars Domer of H&M, the leading European retailer; Avi Sahi of Nike; Arvind Goel of Tata Auto Components; Neeraj Garg of Piramal Enterprises and Vinay Awasthi of HP.

“Innovations hold the key to our success to create a green and sustainable future. Parivartan 2011 has showcased and recognized industry innovations to accelerate the growth of innovation power in India”, said Prof. P. B. Sharma, Vice Chancellor, Delhi Technological University and a member of the Awards jury, who chaired the   technical session on innovations in automotive sector.

Echoing the sentiments, Dr. J.V. Rao, Director NITRA and another member of the Awards Jury stated “The award winners included a number of innovative approaches for catalyzing sustainability in the supply chain, and it is exciting to see such forward thinking leadership by firms.”

The Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Summit and Awards were supported by market leaders like SAP, cKinetics, GIZ, Shell Foundation, Intertek and CIIE- IIM Ahmedabad, amongst others; and were focused on sectors that are increasingly being driven to adopt sustainability measures in their extended supply chains.

"We are extremely delighted to receive the Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Award 2011. It is a matter of pride and priority for our company to strive for environmental sustainability and we are happy that our efforts are being recognized’’, said Jaideep Gokhale, Environment and Communications Director at Tetra Pak.

“We are very pleased to receive the Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Award 2011. It is great to be recognized at such a platform where we have been able to showcase our solutions for catalyzing sustainability to such a large number of companies operating in this space” said V.K. Kripanand, Founder and Director-Solutions, See Beyond Technologies, a winner in the IT sector.
Earlier in the day, at the Parivartan Sustainability Summit, several of the awardees and other senior industry executives deliberated upon the sustainability imperatives facing their respective organizations as also ways in which these seemingly ‘painful’ and ‘cost inducing efforts’ can be successfully converted into newer business lines and revenue sources. The day’s proceedings included a showcase of sustainability initiatives by more than 30 companies in front of more than 200 top managers and industry experts representing various brands, suppliers and industrial customers from these sectors.
Parivartan Sustainability Summit and Awards 2011 has been organized by India Carbon Outlook. For additional details please visit www.parivartanfoum.in
The winners of Parivartan Sustainability Leadership Awards 2011 across various categories are:

Energy Conservation Thought Leadership Awards
Kirloskar Oil Engines (Automotive)
Mc Donalds (Processed Food and Beverages)
Nitin Spinners & Welspun (Textile and Apparel)
Infosys (IT and IT enabled services)
Water Conservation Thought Leadership Awards
TVS Motors (Automotive)
TechKnow Consultants (Processed Food and Beverages)
Precot Meridian (Textile and Apparel)
Thought Leadership in Recycling and Reuse
Maharani Paints (Automotive)
Tetra Pak and Daman Ganga Paper Mills (Processed Food and Beverages)
Shri Lakshmi Cotsyn (Textile and Apparel)
Exceptional Leadership in Catalyzing Sustainability through Waste Management
 Ginni Filaments

Exceptional Leadership in Catalyzing Sustainability through Sustainable Material Usage

Exceptional Leadership in leveraging IT Products for Catalyzing Sustainability
 See Beyond Technologies

Exceptional Leadership for leveraging Internal Measures in IT segment
Special Recognition Award
Exceptional Leadership in Catalyzing Consumer Adoption
KPIT Cummins

Special Recognition Award
Thought Leadership in Shaping Sustainable Ecosystems